Pages

Matt Stafford to the Rams: Instant Reaction

 Embed from Getty Images 

 Last night saw the first big blockbuster trade before the NFL's offseason even began. The rams traded Jared Goff, a 3rd round pick this year, and the next 2 years of 1st round picks to the Lions for Matt Stafford. 

This was a big trade for Detroit as they are about to go through another massive rebuild. This is due to yet again trying the bold strategy of copying the Patriots. It didn't work. Detroit will now be able to start their rebuild with plenty of draft capital, while also getting a good look at Jared Goff to see whether or not he can be the future starting QB for them. If he isn't, they will have plenty of 1st round picks for the next 2 years to possibly get their next franchise QB. 

Now if you look at the Rams point of view, you will see an obvious reason why they did this. The Rams defense is disgustingly good. It's the #1 defense in the league for a reason. The one thing holding this team back was that the Rams didn't have a quarterback. They have weapons with their WR's, nothing flashy, but they are reliable. Not to mention they have a young RB that hopefully won't be a guy made out of glass. The new issue holding the Rams back is their cap situation. This team is facing cap hell. With the contracts on defense, they're going to have some choices to make this offseason of who they can afford. The Rams mentality is win now, and I can't blame them for thinking this way, especially with the talent they have on defense. 

Overall I think this trade really is a win win for both teams. Stafford didn't want to be in Detroit (who can blame him though, Detroit is awful). Not to mention the Lions are about to go through another rebuild, and now with this draft capital they can hopefully do it the right way (don't get your hopes up). While the Rams get a much better QB with a chance to win now, but still they have to compete in the NFC West, which will surely be another bloodbath pending on whether or not San Francisco doesn't get injured to hell and back. 

Royal Rumble 2021 Preview

 

Embed from Getty Images

It's the end of January, you know what that means... WWE is holding their annual January event, The Royal Rumble, this Sunday night. As the only wrestling fan that actually writes for this blog (sorry Tyler), I'm going to give my predictions for the show. I tried to hit on this during our last podcast before I was steamrolled by Cody and Tauber so they could jerk one out to the thought of firing Mike Tomlin. Unfortunately for them, I pretty much do all of the work around here, so I can do whatever I want. The Lobos Power Hour is covering wrestling now, suck it Tauber. 

First order of business now that this is a wrestling blog, The Royal Rumble. As of Saturday morning, there are six matches announced for the show. I imagine that one of Bobby Lashley, Big E, or The Hurt Business will defend their titles on the pre-show, but nothing is official yet. We have four championships on the line along with the two Royal Rumble matches bookending the show. I'm just gonna go match-by-match through the show and pick my winners. There's a solid chance that I go 0-6, I haven't watched RAW in about a month. 

WWE Women's Tag Team Champions Asuka and Charlotte Flair vs. Shayna Baszler and Nia Jax


I'm not really sure what's going on in this storyline. Lacey Evans seems to be trying to fuck Charlotte's father Ric, even though he's like 75 years old and also looks like this. I think Charlotte is feuding with Lacey Evans and Peyton Royce, while Shayna and Nia are still in a story with Mandy Rose and Dana Brooke. Lana is M.I.A. , and Asuka, the RAW Women's Champion, is just there. Asuka is probably going to face Charlotte for that title at Wrestlemania, and while that story has to start somewhere, I don't think it'll be this early. Asuka and Charlotte will retain the titles, probably with some outside interference from like eight other people. This whole thing is a clusterfuck. 

My Prediction - Asuka and Charlotte Flair win


Universal Champion Roman Reigns vs. Kevin Owens in a Last Man Standing Match 


Roman Reigns might be the best heel in wrestling. There's a sentence that I never though I'd write. But ever since turning Roman heel at SummerSlam, he's been incredible. His pairing with Paul Heyman has added another dimension to his character. Reigns is "The Head of the Table" and "The Tribal Chief." Flanked by Heyman, his cousin Jey Uso, and Apollo Crews (maybe), he has built the dominant faction on Smackdown. Reigns has defended the Universal Championship a few times since winning it in August. He defeated Jey Uso at Clash of Champions and at Hell in a Cell, the latter victory forcing Jey to recognize him as the leader of their family. Reigns also beat Braun Strowman on Smackdown to retain the title in October, but honestly, I don't remember that at all. Reigns began a feud with Kevin Owens leading up to TLC and has successfully defended his title against him a few times. This final match between the two came about due to Roman being outsmarted by WWE official, Adam Pearce. Pearce held a gauntlet match to determine the next challenger for Reigns, but was put into the match by Heyman. Uso and Reigns ensured that Pearce would win the gauntlet by attacking him and his opponent, Shinsuke Nakamura, before the bell. An unconscious Pearce pinned Nak, making him the number one contender. Pearce hasn't wrestled a match in like 5 years, but found a loophole in the contract to have Kevin Owens take his place. This match is going to be brutal. KO is an insane person and Reigns have been murdering his opponents since the summer. Roman Reigns is going to retain the belt, but this match is going to be great. I'm sure Owens is going to take a crazy bump that will most likely make me uncomfortable. 

My Prediction - Roman Reigns retains after committing murder on PPV



WWE Champion Drew McIntyre vs. Goldberg



This match might be fun, but please don't have Goldberg win, Vince. Drew McIntyre has been an awesome champion for almost a full year now and Goldberg doesn't need the belt. I'm sure Goldberg is going to win for some reason, but I'm picking Drew. Heart over head on this one. Vince, please don't do it. 

My Prediction - Drew McIntyre wins, but he probably won't


Smackdown Women's Champion Sasha Banks vs. Carmella 



This feud has been going on for a while now and I think this is the end of it. Sasha has to retain the belt here. I don't think there's much else to say. Should be a good match though. 

My Prediction - Sasha Banks Wins


Women's Royal Rumble Match


There hasn't been any build to this match whatsoever. The only people that could really win it are Bianca Belair, Bayley, Alexa Bliss, and Charlotte Flair. Maybe a debuting Rhea Ripley, but that hasn't been announced. Bianca Belair had a great showing in the Rumble last year and I think she'll do it again. I'm going to pick her, but Rhea Ripley winning would be pretty cool too. Like the men's match, there isn't an obvious pick. It'll be nice to see the entire NXT Women's roster in this match at least. Give me Candice Larae with the entire Gargano family at ringside. There's nothing better than Dickhead Johnny Gargano. 

 My Prediction - Bianca Belair, but also maybe Rhea Ripley if she's in it


Men's Royal Rumble Match


This match is loaded. I think there's about ten different wrestlers that could win it, and I love that. Daniel Bryan and AJ Styles seem to be the favorites, but Shinsuke Nakamura, Edge, Randy Orton, Cesaro, Keith Lee, Bobby Lashley, Sheamus, and maybe even a Big E or Kevin Owens could win it. I might've missed someone in that group too. I love the Rumble match. I was lucky enough to attend the show in 2014, also known as CM Punk's last appearance for the WWE. We booed Rey Mysterio out of the building for not being Daniel Bryan. I think they're finally going to pull the trigger on a Bryan victory in the Rumble. Just about 7 years too late, but at least it might happen! Please have Carlito make a surprise return in this match. That's all I'm asking for. Well, that and a Cesaro or Nakamura win, but that'll never happen. One for two ain't bad!

My Prediction - Daniel Bryan wins, Cesaro makes it to the final four


NFL Conference Championship Weekend Preview

Embed from Getty Images


28 teams are gone; 4 remain. Who will win a trip to Tampa, and who will go on the clock for the draft? In what has proven to be a rather entertaining playoffs so far, these two matchups should provide more of the same entertainment. 


Embed from Getty Images

NFC CHAMPIONSHIP GAME

Tampa Bay Buccaneers @ Green Bay Packers (-3.5)

Sunday January 24, 3:05 PM ET, FOX 

Brady vs Rodgers. TB12 vs the Hail Mary Master. Two of the best to ever play the game square off for the first time in the postseason with a trip to the Super Bowl at stake. What more could a football fan ask for? Tampa overcame a slow start last week to outlast the Saints, while the Packers cruised to a win over the Rams. Antonio Brown is out, but as long as Mike Evans and Chris Godwin can pick up the slack, that shouldn't be a problem. The Packers' win game may struggle to find traction against the best rush defense in the league, but Rodgers should be able to take advantage of a relatively weak Bucs secondary. Ultimately, this game should come down to whomever makes the fewest offensive mistakes, and the over should be covered easily. I'm picking the Packers to win and cover here via a late touchdown to Devante Adams, avenging the loss from October and securing a spot in Super Bowl LV.

Prediction: Packers (-3.5)


Embed from Getty Images

AFC CHAMPIONSHIP GAME

Sunday January 24, 6:40 PM ET, CBS

Buffalo Bills vs Kansas City Chiefs (-3.0)

Two of the hottest young QBs in the league square off in Arrowhead this Sunday, one looking to secure his place among the NFL's elite whole the other looks to secure a repeat Lombardi for the first time since 2004. After a concussion scare last week, Patrick Mahomes is back for a third consecutive AFC Championship game, while the Bills haven't been in this position since their fourth Super Bowl run in 1994. Their best chance for a fifth appearance in the big game will come from a strong performance from Josh Allen, who has consistently proven doubters (myself included) wrong this season. On paper, this looks to be an extremely close match, as both QBs and defenses have remarkably similar statistics, with the Bills scoring more consistently as the Chiefs put up the most yards. While this is not the same dominant Chiefs offense as last year, I expect experience to win out here. The Bills keep it close until late in the fourth, and a late scramble by Mahomes seals the win for Kansas City.

The Pick: Chiefs (-3.0)

Super Bowl Prediction

Sunday February 7, 6:30 PM, CBS

Packers vs Chiefs


NFL Divisional Round Preview

Embed from Getty Images

 

Wild Card Weekend was certainly that; the Browns got a big win, last year's MVP finally broke through, and the Bears were the focus of arguably the weirdest broadcast in NFL history. After a week of rest, the Chiefs and Packers are ready to join the dance - and let's get ready for an exciting Divisional Round!

Saturday, Jan 16

4:35 PM ET,  FOX

Rams @ Packers (-7.0)

The Rams are coming off a respectable (though rather boring) win over Seattle last week, while the Packers and the terrifying force of "Pissed-Off Aaron Rodgers" had a week to regroup and rest. Jared Goff is clearly not back at 100%, and while getting Aaron Donald back certainly helps the Rams' chances, the Packers offense is most likely too strong to overcome. Expect the Packers to pull away and cruise in the second half. 

The Pick: Packers -7.0

8:15 PM ET,  NBC

Ravens @ Bills (-2.5)

Lamar Jackson finally got the monkey off of his back and one a playoff game while Buffalo fended off a late charge by the Colts to advance this week. All eyes will be on the quarterback duel between Jackson and Josh Allen, who are both playing great football when it matters most. Expect a close game, likely decided by a late field goal, but Buffalo should move on to the AFC championship. 

The Pick: Ravens +2.5 (Bills Outright)

Sunday, Jan 17

3:05 PM ET,  CBS

Browns @ Chiefs (-10.0)

The Browns are arguably the biggest winner of Wild Card Weekend, taking down the Steelers for the first playoff win since their return in 1999. Baker and Co have a full head of steam and all the confidence in the world, but a trip to Arrowhead won't make it easy for them. Mahomes and the Chiefs have had a week off to rest and return nearly the same team as last years Super Bowl winner. Expect the Browns to keep this one closer than expected, but the Chiefs with their talent edge should put their foot down in the later stages and win convincingly.

The Pick: Chiefs -10.0

6:40 PM ET,  FOX

Bucs @ Saints (-3.0)

The Bucs picked up a rather ugly win over an upstart Washington team last weekend, while the Saints took an early lead over the Bears and came away with a win that was never really in doubt. Both teams have struggles with offensive inconsistencies down the stretch, and neither of these teams have shortages of talent or experience. While I hate to bet against Tom Brady in the playoffs, the Saints have had the Bucs number this year and I don't expect that to change now. New Orleans wins by at least a touchdown.

The Pick: Saints (3.0)


Championship Week Predictions

AFC: Bills @ Chiefs

NFC: Saints @ Packers

NFL Wild Card Weekend Preview

Embed from Getty Images


After the NFL stumbled. rumbled, and in some cases dragged teams kicking and screaming through a full 256 games, the field of 32 teams has been whittled down to 14. Who will cruise to a date with the Chiefs and Packers, and who will be embarrassed? We can't see the future, but let's go ahead and try anyway. 

Saturday Jan 9

Colts @ Bills (-7.0)

1:05 PM ET, CBS

One of the more intriguing matchups of Wild Card Weekend, this game pits the upstart Bills and Josh Allen against the veteran Philip Rivers and the Colts. Josh Allen is heating up at the right time and that Bills defense is potent, but the Colts also have a defense capable of keeping them in game. Ultimately, Allen out-duels Rivers and the Bills should win their first home playoff game in 25 years.

The Pick: Bills -7.0

Rams @ Seahawks (-4.0)

4:40 PM ET, FOX

The Rams and Seahawks clash for the 3rd time this season, and with Jared Goff still questionable, the Seahawks have enough on offense to make this ugly. Both teams have been wildly inconsistent this year, but even if Jared Goff does play, the Seahawks should pull out what is most likely an ugly game.

The Pick: Seahawks -4.0

Buccaneers (-8.0) @ Washington

8:15 PM ET, NBC

The Football Team are the in-by-default seed form the NFC East while the Bucs are riding a hot streak at the right time. Washington has an elite defense, but it won't be enough against the juggernaut of an offense that is Tampa Bay with a full head of steam. Expect Tampa to roll on for a likely date with the Packers on the horizon. 

The Pick: Buccaneers -8.0

Sunday Jan 10

Ravens (-3.5) @ Titans

1:05 PM ET, ESPN/ABC

The Ravens are getting hot at the right time (albeit against a weak schedule down the stretch), but will it be enough to avenge the loss to the Titans from last season? Derrick Henry is playing the best football of his career, and any hope the Ravens have rest on stopping him early and often. Can Lamar shake is playoff stigma and lead the Ravens to win? Quite possibly, but expect Tennessee to keep it close.

The Pick: Titans +3.5

Bears @ Saints (-9.5)

4:40 PM ET, CBS

Alvin Kamara is still a question mark going into this game, and the Saints haven't looked particularly impressive down the stretch. The being said, the Bears backed into a playoff spot virtually be default, so his presence may not be required to pick up a win here. Expect slow drives and solid defensive play all around, but the Saints should win a close game here.

The Pick: Bears +9.5

Browns @ Steelers (-6.0)

8:15 PM ET, NBC

After a win against these same Steelers (with Mason Rudolph at the helm) last week, the Browns find themselves playing postseason football for the first time since 2002. Baker and Co. have all the grit and motivation in the world, but going into a road game in Pittsburgh without Kevin Stefanski is likely too big of a hurdle to overcome this year. The Steelers have not been exceptional on offense at any point this year, but their defense with TJ Watt and Cam Heyward back should be able to hold down the fort this Sunday.

The Pick: Steelers -6.0

The Eagles Blatant Tanking is Actually Hilarious, You Guys Are Just Crazy

 

Embed from Getty Images

I didn't want to write about what happened Sunday night, but the internet mob has compelled me to throw my hat in the ring. Doug Pederson benching Jalen Hurts for Nate Sudfeld is not only hilarious, but it's honestly not that big of a deal. I mean, it didn't come out of nowhere. Mike Garafolo reported that Sudfeld was likely to see action before the game on Sunday. 

If you were shocked by Sudfeld taking over in the second half, that's really on you. It was pretty clear that the Eagles had no intent to win the game. All you had to do was look at the Eagles inactive list. They held around 10 of their usual starters out. Not like those starters were any good either, the team was 4-10-1 heading into week 17. The Eagles managed to keep it close for the entire game, which says a whole lot about Washington, but all anyone is talking about is how the Eagles broke the unwritten rules or something. I watched a bit of First Take this morning, and that show is real bad, but Max Kellerman and Molly Qerim were arguing that Philly compromised the integrity of the game by putting in Nate Sudfeld. That's just laughable. Both Molly and Max are Giants fans, which I'm sure has someone to do with their takes, but to say that the Eagles ruined the integrity of the game is completely wild. It's literally just a game. And are we really going to act like nobody has ever tanked before in football? Jacksonville has started Mike Glennon at quarterback for half of the season, but no one has a problem with that. Everyone mocks the Jets for winning games to ruin their tank, and don't forget, the Jets blew a game against Vegas that was honestly more egregious than what Philly did against The Football Team. I guess people don't remember when Lovie Smith took his starters out at halftime when they were winning so they could get the first pick. Sure, the Eagles only got the 6th pick, but that loss could be the difference between Jamar Chase or someone like Jaylen Waddle. The Eagles playing to lose that game shouldn't have surprised anyone. They clearly had nothing to play for, so who cares that they didn't try?

Nate Sudfeld playing the way he did was glorious. Bomani Jones compared his performance to Nathan Peterman on Highly Questionable yesterday and it's like, kind of right actually. Sudfeld had been pretty good in his previous appearances, but the guy completely fell apart on Sunday. It was a hilarious display of incompetency from Nate. It's actually a shame because the guy was playing for another contract, and his performance might find him out of the league. Maybe Doug was just trying to highlight one of his guys he liked and he imploded? It's definitely possible. 

Let's move on to my favorite part of this whole situation, the New York Giants. Sorry, the 6-10 New York Giants. Anyone crying that the Eagles screwed the Giants out of a playoff spot is delusional. I don't care that they finished a game out of a playoff spot, a 6 win team never deserves to make it. And why should the Eagles care that the Giants needed them to win? The Eagles owe them nothing. They don't care about New York's feelings, and quite frankly, why should they? The Giants playoff push is of no concern to the Philadelphia Eagles. The Eagles' goal is to put their franchise in the best situation for the future. Unfortunately for the Giants, that meant losing the game against Washington was the right thing to do. They had no reason to try to spoil Washington's chances, especially when it actually hurts their draft position. 

Joe Judge had something to say about Pederson's coaching on Sunday. He said, "To disrespect the effort that everyone put forward to make this season a success in the National Football League, to disrespect the game by going out there and not competing for 60 minutes and doing everything they can to help those players win, we will never do that as long as I am head coach of the New York Giants," to reporters on Monday. I think it's easy to understand why Judge is upset with the result, but I don't understand why he feels the need to call Pederson out. His quote makes it sound like he was wronged by Philly and that's stupid. As I said earlier, the Eagles have obligation to Joe Judge or the New York Giants organization to help them out by winning a game. Or to try at all honestly. And instead of blaming Philly for their playoff elimination, why doesn't he blame himself for leading his team to a cool 1-3 record down the stretch? The Giants failure to make the playoffs is much more on Joe Judge than anyone else. 

The NFL flexing this game to Sunday Night Football was hilarious. I know it was the only game with direct playoff implications, but what did they expect? The Eagles had no reason to care about the game and everyone knew they wanted to lose going in. If Washington blows them out, like they should've, nobody cares. The Football Team's inability to play football is what makes this a story. The Eagles managed to show everyone how bad Washington really is while also pissing off the Giants and apparently the entire football world. That's the most Philadelphia thing of all-time. 

 I just find this whole situation to be odd. Everyone is mad at the Eagles for losing a game that was meaningless to them. Sure, the way they lost was honestly pretty embarrassing, but it isn't this big of a story. Bad team loses game badly, who could've seen that coming? 


Where Does Everton Go From Here?